Recent Forum on Senate Reform

Does or can the Senate play a useful role? How can we ensure that it fills gaps in our current system of governance? Can we imagine a better Senate? Or, how do we go about abolishing it?

At this forum on November 26, 2013, participants were encouraged to consider the continuum of ideas as they pertain to the future of the Senate.


  • Senator James S. Cowan, Leader of the Opposition in the Senate (Nova Scotia)
  • Senator Nancy Ruth, Conservative Party of Canada (Cluny, Ontario)
  • Prof. Carissima Mathen, Faculty of Law, University of Ottawa
  • Isabel Metcalfe, Chair, Famous 5 Ottawa
  • Lawrence Martin, Public Affairs Columnist, Globe and Mail
  • Moderator: Andrew Cardozo, The Canadian Centre

Location: One Wellington Street, Parliamentary Precinct (Room C-110), Ottawa


  • #OC150 Award, Province of Ontario
  • Mayor’s City Building Award, 2017, City of Ottawa
  • Her Majesty the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal, 2012
  • Her Majesty the Queen’s Golden Jubilee Medal, 2002
  • Leading Women Building Communities Award, Province of Ontario, 2010
  • Ontario Volunteer Service Awards, Province of Ontario, 2010
  • Judy LaMarsh Woman of Distinction, 1988


  • Second busiest lobbyist in Ottawa, 2014 Maclean's Power Issue
  • Member, City of Ottawa 2017 Committee, 2015 - current
  • Member, Citizens’ Council, Ministry of Health & Long Term Care, Ontario, 2015 - current
  • Member, Advisory Board, the Canadian Centre for Progressive Policy, Ottawa, 2014 - current
  • Chair, Famous 5 Ottawa, 1999–current
  • International Election Observer & Trainer, 2002 – current (Lebanon, Albania, Ukraine, Azerbaijan)
  • Member, Board of Directors, Ontario Trillium Foundation, 2004–2010
  • Juror, Governor General’s Persons’ Case Awards, 1998–2003
  • Chair, Community Advisory Committee, The Ottawa Hospital, 1999–2003
  • Member, Board of Trustees, The Ottawa Hospital, 1998–2001
  • Member, Board of Trustees, The Royal Ottawa Health Care Group, 1988–1998
  • Founding Director, Ottawa Dragon Boat Festival, 1994-2000
  • Secretary, Hong Kong Canada Business Association, 1992 - 1997